Some Beauty Favourites

Every make up lover has their staple products that they always come back to, no matter what the make up look. I am no different, I have 12 products that I use time and time again. Some are fairly new to me whereas others have been my favourites for months, or even years!

IMG_0140No7 Stay Perfect Foundation – Calico

First up is my trusted No7 Stay Perfect foundation in “Calico” (the palest shade they have, boo!). I have been loving this foundation since my Year 11 prom back in 2013 when I first bought it for that occasion. That first bottle lasted for a whole year! I don’t tend to use a foundation every day, but with this product a little goes a long way.

It’s a wonderful consistency and doesn’t feel heavy or cakey on the skin. It’s buildable and semi-matte so it gives a subtle dewy effect to the skin. It also hold powder products well too if you want a more matte finish. I also don’t tend to break out when using this foundation due to it being quite a light formula. It really does “Stay Perfect” for a number of hours too – although I never tend to bother with reapplying make up, unless I’m going out in the evening.

It’s a perfect match to my skin tone and this is because of the “Match Made” service they have at every No7 counter. There is a good variety of shades too, I would highly recommend getting your colour match done before buying a shade from here. This service also shows you which lipstick colours best match your skin tone too!

Before I repurchased this, I did look around for a new foundation but in the end I still came back to this one and I probably will continue to.

Buy it here for £14.50.

IMG_0147

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

To apply my foundation, I use this Real Techniques brush to buff it on. I find this brush is perfect for applying foundation or concealer as you can buff, paint or stipple the product on to achieve the look you want.

I love Real Techniques products and I keep meaning to save up to get more! I love the sturdiness of the brush and the ergonomic design of it. I also have the beauty blender and I often use this after using the brush to blend away any brush marks there may be.

This brush is versatile and easy to use as it is so dense. I used to use the Real Techniques foundation brush. It’s angled design is good for getting to all areas of the face, but I find the expert face brush gives a more even coverage.

Buy it here for £9.99.

Pixi by Petra NatuIMG_0137ral Contour Kit

I was kindly given this kit for Christmas last year. It’s the most pricey of my favourites and I probably wouldn’t have found it myself.

This palette consists of 2 highlight shades – one matte, one shimmery. 2 contour shades – one matte, one shimmery. 6 matte eyeshadows and 2 eye shimmery highlights.

It seems like a small amount but it’s so versatile and suits all skin tones. However, for those with paler skin – like me – I would use the contour shades carefully as they are quite pigmented! I use the shimmer highlight almost every day on my cheekbones, nose and cupid’s bow as it is the perfect highlighter. It catches the light so well and stays on all day.

I also tend to mainly use the orange-toned brown eyeshadow with the brown shimmer eye highlight as an “everyday look”. Then I add the dark brown or black for an “evening look”.

I’m so glad I was bought this, I will probably buy it again when it runs out – another staple in my makeup bag and so easy to travel with!

Buy it here for £22.00

IMG_0141Maybelline Lash Sensational

I’m sure almost everyone has heard the hype about this mascara now! But if you haven’t, you need to.I gave in to the hype that was sparked around this product a few months ago and I’m so glad I did.

This mascara is PER-FECT. As you can probably tell by the faded packaging on the lid, I use this mascara a lot. I’ve used a lot of mascaras over the years, all of which have been from drugstore brands, but this has been my favourite so far.

It really does give you an uplifted, false lash effect and makes your lashes look bold and full. I would recommend this to anyone, no matter what their lashes are like. The shape of the brush perfectly covers the lashes and you rarely need more than one coat. Mine’s lasted since February! Definitely pick one of these up if you’re looking for a new mascara.

Buy it here for £5.99.

IMG_0145Soap & Glory Archery – Brownie Points

This is another product I was kindly given for Christmas last year. I often seem to leave this product aside for a different one at times, but it’s one of my favourites because I always come back to it!

This is a double ended brow pencil. One end has a soft brown twist-up pencil for shaping the brow. The other has a fine brush that is perfect for filling in sparse areas. It’s so easy to use and isn’t too much of a deep or red-toned brown, this gives a much more natural look and avoids the dreaded “slug brows”.

I would recommend this to anyone who is new to filling in their brows, as it is not too daring, it’s easy to use and comes in 3 shades. It’s great for an “everyday look” but can be built up to create a more bold brow.

Buy it here for £10.00

IMG_0136Kiko Cream Radiance Highlighter – 02, Alluring Sand

I LOVE Kiko products, especially when they’re on sale. I found this highlighter while browsing in the Kiko store in Bath, I fell in love instantly.

This highlighter is different to any highlighter I’ve used before. It’s creamy formula can be difficult to work with at first but once you’ve cracked it, you’ll shine like a star. It’s a very bold highlighter, great for summer or nights out to show off that GLO.

I’ve recommended this highlighter to most of my friends now and I’ve recently noticed that it’s back on sale at Kiko! I will definitely be coming back to this product when it runs out.

Buy it here for £5.40 (RRP – £10.90)

IMG_0146NYX Lip Lingerie – Exotic

Last, but by no means least, a product that is very new to me. I only bought this about 4 days ago after feeling a craving to buy a new lipstick.

I already have one of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams in “Morocco”. A bright orange-red colour that looked perfect while I was on holiday.

I went to the NYX counter with the idea in my head that I was going to pick up the Lip Lingerie shade “Ruffle Trim”. However, when I swatched it in the store, it pretty much matched my lip colour! I decided to go for a bolder colour and I picked up Exotic.

It’s a gorgeous, purple-y, taupe-y, pink-y colour. The formula is wonderful and durable, it even lasted while I ate a bowl of Wagamama ramen! As with most liquid lipsticks, it feels a little tacky while it’s drying, but after that, you forget you have it on! It’s weightless and kiss-proof and great for day and night time. I think I will be collecting other shades in the future!

Buy it here for £6.50.

Sorry this was such a long post, it’s actually about a quarter of the length it was going to be! I have a few more favourites to talk about but I’ll post those separately another day.

Do you use any of these products?

Did you have a different experience with any?

What are your beauty favourites?

xox

Bloglovin’

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

